PDA

View Full Version : Issues with slicks

SaxoMuffin
23rd November 2010, 11:10
Hi Guys,

I know this could be posted within the suspension/tyres section but I feel it would be more apt posted here.

And at the risk of sounding like a complete noob I'm after some advise on the below.

I've done a bit of research into slick tyres (although not fully slick but better than the road worthy couterparts) and I will be wanting to run some next year on a few track days.

But from what I have read running slicks can cause more wear and tear damage on driveshafts etc, and is it really neccessary to have an uprated diff when running slicks? (As it would appear so from where I have read)

Please can someone enlighten me on any issues which arise from running semi-slicks if there are any?

Thanks in advance :)

KamRacing
23rd November 2010, 11:23
More grip and traction will put more load on the suspension components and the chassis. Expect ball joints, wishbone bushes and top mounts to wear out quicker as well as increased roll as the suspension is worked harder.
As long as you are not trying to wheelspin or accelerate hard from 0 then your driveshafts and gearbox will be ok.
Stick with road legal slicks rather than full slicks as you will not be able to get enough heat in full slicks to push near their full potential.

SaxoMuffin
23rd November 2010, 11:34
Perfect info..exactly what I was looking for thanks!

jsdvtr
23rd November 2010, 15:58
I think a diff would be a good investment though, probably before using slicks imo. I could be wrong but the extra grip from a diff is awesome but using slicks without one you wouldnt really be using them to full potential.

KamRacing
23rd November 2010, 16:02
A diff will be one of the best investments you can do. Much better traction! Get in contact with John at GMC for a quaife :D

Colin
23rd November 2010, 16:26