PDA

View Full Version : Lowering

Dave_M
15th July 2006, 18:43
Ive done some searching and read many a thread. The replies are very wide.
As i was thinking about lowering my saxo vtr (mk1) by 50mm all round. First of all was to go down 40mm on just springs then decided to go 50 instead. Is it wise to get full kit when going down more than 40mm? Thats what vibe i was getting after searching anyway. But was just wondering if theres a good chance of getting problems if i just lowerd on springs?

Also i have 16" alloys on low profile tyres. Im pretty sure i wont get any rubbing seen as person who had wheels before was down 60. But i was just wondering on handling? Would it be better than it is now (at standard height). As ive read various replies saying 40mm is best any lower and you start to lose handling but some saying down 60mm and handling is brilliant.

Im not too good with the mechanic side of cars so any help would be much appreciated :Y:

beastgtir
15th July 2006, 20:01
over 40mm u have to get the PAS pipe bent upwards (think mark2 only though?)

over 40mm drop and you should get a full kit as over 40mm will kill the shocks quickly. handling is best at 40mm from what ive heard but people recommened a strut brace when lowering.

rubbing is easily sorted by removing the arch liners.

im going down 40mm on springs only..

DevilDamo
15th July 2006, 20:13
Hmmm...

You don't HAVE TO have the PAS bent up/moved/re-located. For example like on mine... it was fine. It's just good to check.

If you go lower than 40mm, then it's recommended to have uprated shocks/dampers. You don't need a kit but if you're upgrading the shocks and dampers all round, then it might work out cheaper just to buy a whole kit (which will also include the front springs).