Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Citroen Saxo Related Forums > Saxo Problems & Queries

Saxo Problems & Queries If you're having problems with your Saxo and you're after a bit of advice, check this forum out...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st September 2018, 17:42   #1
leem99
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 12
Default car wont start key light flashs once on dash.

hi all. im new to this group i think this could be my 1st post. i have a issue with me saxo vts. all ways starts on the button but i did some work on the car this week welding and painting. and now the car wont start. and i have a key symbol on the dash when i 1st turn the key. i havnt unpluged any thing on the car today only dissconnected the battery. any ideas how i can get it started. im guessin it imobilzer. i have a 3 plug ecu how do i over come this. thanks lee
leem99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2018, 17:55   #2
MartinObviously
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
MartinObviously's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth
Posts: 3,307
Car(s): Peugeot 106 1.5D Peugeot 106 GTI '78 XJ-S
Default

an immobilised engine would have the key symbol on the dash flashing.

Normal condition is the light comes on steady, then goes off.

Does the engine turn over? Can you hear the fuel pump prime? The car can do both of these even when the ECU is immobilised. So if it dosn't turn over or you can't hear the fuel pump then you have another fault - either starter wiring or faulty fuel relay under the ECU.
__________________
The rain kept a trollin'
MartinObviously is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2018, 18:51   #3
leem99
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 12
Default

car turns over fires once and then stops. i have fuel pressure at the rail and coil pack is sparking. i cant say ive noticed the key light on dash when starting maybe over looked it tho. i also have no codes saved in ecu. i drove the car in the garage and 1 hour later nothing. very strange.
leem99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2018, 11:58   #4
stevo67
Saxperience Hardcore!
 
stevo67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: smurfland.
Posts: 17,310
Car(s): Ex saxo owner.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leem99 View Post
hi all. im new to this group i think this could be my 1st post. i have a issue with me saxo vts. all ways starts on the button but i did some work on the car this week welding and painting. and now the car wont start. and i have a key symbol on the dash when i 1st turn the key. i havnt unpluged any thing on the car today only dissconnected the battery. any ideas how i can get it started. im guessin it imobilzer. i have a 3 plug ecu how do i over come this. thanks lee
Guess is you've burnt through a wire.
stevo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2018, 18:37   #5
leem99
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 12
Default

ive checked all wires all look ok i have found i have a weak spark on 12 and 4 and a strong spark on plug 3. no idea why. im guesing the welding has caused a issue. maybe coil pack or ecu issue. very strange. never seen this before.
leem99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 00:43   #6
MartinObviously
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
MartinObviously's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth
Posts: 3,307
Car(s): Peugeot 106 1.5D Peugeot 106 GTI '78 XJ-S
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leem99 View Post
ive checked all wires all look ok i have found i have a weak spark on 12 and 4 and a strong spark on plug 3. no idea why. im guesing the welding has caused a issue. maybe coil pack or ecu issue. very strange. never seen this before.
The coil pack is driven directly by drivers in the ECU. the ECU's are very sensitive to static (this includes spikes from welding)

It's not an immobiliser issue if the engine starts.

How are you testing for spark? it's dual coil. So it's very rare to have a good spark on 1 cylinder and not the other three, they usually fail in pairs.

Where did you do welding on the car?
__________________
The rain kept a trollin'
MartinObviously is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2018, 14:31   #7
leem99
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 12
Default

welding was on both front inner archs. os was fine no issue started when done ns. i have now fitted the ford coil pack upgrade spark is now spot on. fuels pressure is good at rail. but injectors only open for a split second and then dont open again. tested with injectors out. so i have a fuel issue. it looks like injector 3 is dry also. so maybe i have 1 injector down. im getting my muilt meter home from work 2moro and goin to check the wiring back to ecu and injector relay
after that il be looking for a 3 plug ecu if any 1 has one on here lol.
leem99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2018, 18:53   #8
MartinObviously
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
MartinObviously's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth
Posts: 3,307
Car(s): Peugeot 106 1.5D Peugeot 106 GTI '78 XJ-S
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leem99 View Post
welding was on both front inner archs. os was fine no issue started when done ns. i have now fitted the ford coil pack upgrade spark is now spot on. fuels pressure is good at rail. but injectors only open for a split second and then dont open again. tested with injectors out. so i have a fuel issue. it looks like injector 3 is dry also. so maybe i have 1 injector down. im getting my muilt meter home from work 2moro and goin to check the wiring back to ecu and injector relay
after that il be looking for a 3 plug ecu if any 1 has one on here lol.
Ahh so you're actually getting a spark then. The ecu isn't immobilised then at least.

The flywheel sensor is the main trigger for the injectors and the spark. so if it's sparking correctly then the flywheel sensor is okay.

Not sure I can be of any more help. that's weird. I don't want to suggest that the ECU has died lol cos I've been there.
__________________
The rain kept a trollin'
MartinObviously is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2018, 19:36   #9
leem99
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 12
Default

ive carried out wiring checks. i have 12v at injectors. so my guess is ecu is not earthing out to open injectors. so either im missing a input else were or i need a ecu. doin my head in lol.
leem99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2018, 20:23   #10
MartinObviously
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
MartinObviously's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth
Posts: 3,307
Car(s): Peugeot 106 1.5D Peugeot 106 GTI '78 XJ-S
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leem99 View Post
ive carried out wiring checks. i have 12v at injectors. so my guess is ecu is not earthing out to open injectors. so either im missing a input else were or i need a ecu. doin my head in lol.
Is the ECU bolted down? and are the earths clean and tight?

I ended up breaking my 16v for bits lol
__________________
The rain kept a trollin'
MartinObviously is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2018, 22:11   #11
leem99
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 12
Default

ecu hasnt been bolted down for months didnt think that would cause a issue. need pin data for a 3 plug ecu before i check all the lives and earths in to ecu. ive only checked injection side back to the relay lives are all correct. just need to check back to ecu now. ive orderd a haynes maual so that should help with pin data. but my gut feelin in ecu issue. has any one on here got a unlocked 3 plug ecu for sale.
leem99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2018, 23:36   #12
MartinObviously
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
MartinObviously's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth
Posts: 3,307
Car(s): Peugeot 106 1.5D Peugeot 106 GTI '78 XJ-S
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leem99 View Post
ecu hasnt been bolted down for months didnt think that would cause a issue. need pin data for a 3 plug ecu before i check all the lives and earths in to ecu. ive only checked injection side back to the relay lives are all correct. just need to check back to ecu now. ive orderd a haynes maual so that should help with pin data. but my gut feelin in ecu issue. has any one on here got a unlocked 3 plug ecu for sale.
Nah I was just clutching at straws now the ECU doesn't need to be bolted down.

Be careful with the Haynes, I was just telling another forum member that it has mistakes in the wiring diagrams. the dash wiring being one of them - at the cluster. I'm not sure what else because I don't have it anymore.

Maybe find someone with access to auto data?
__________________
The rain kept a trollin'
MartinObviously is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 18:57   #13
karl_mh
Infrequent Poster
 
karl_mh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wirral
Posts: 124
Car(s): 106 GTI - 106 GTI shell - New 106 Rallye shell
Default

Apologies, posted in error.
__________________
"If you haven't crashed your not driving fast enough"

Last edited by karl_mh; 25th September 2018 at 20:01.
karl_mh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 22:27   #14
leem99
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 12
Default

i got auto data . no pin data for ecu on there tho. i cant get on to the sales pages on here. has any one got a ecu for sale on 3 plug.
leem99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:58.