Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Other... > Gaming, IT, Multimedia & Music

Gaming, IT, Multimedia & Music Please use this forum to discuss Gaming, IT, Multimedia & Music.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th February 2014, 09:50   #21
marcusd
Saxperience Post Whore
Central South Region MemberNorth West Region Member
 
marcusd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: warrington
Posts: 7,551
Car(s): posi blue mk2 2003 vtr
iTrader Score: 29 (100%)
Default

Warrington mate, but seriously the guy has it at mo if he can't recover I shall try the advice above then go from there
marcusd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2014, 08:26   #22
MuZiZZle
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport PrepNorth East Region Member
 
MuZiZZle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 7,786
Car(s): Phase 2 VTS , E61 M5
iTrader Score: 5 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jordyn89 View Post
Source: 2nd/3rd line technical support supervisor.
Really?

and you're suggesting he just gets someone he knows to "shove" it into their PC?
__________________
Turtle neck, with another on deck, 'case I spill something on it, like some light beer, check!
MuZiZZle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2014, 08:33   #23
chompy
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
chompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,765
Car(s): Because racecar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuZiZZle View Post
Really?

and you're suggesting he just gets someone he knows to "shove" it into their PC?
Job title means nothing in IT It may be 2nd/3rd line desktop support. Could be printer support.

My job title certainly does not describe what I do.

However, I'd do something similar in that situation. Infact, i have a HDD cradle sitting on my desk for exactly that reason.

Last edited by chompy; 14th February 2014 at 08:49.
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2014, 08:34   #24
jordyn89
Infrequent Poster
North West Region Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Blackburn
Posts: 130
Car(s): Icelandic Saxo VTRS
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuZiZZle View Post
Really?

and you're suggesting he just gets someone he knows to "shove" it into their PC?
Explain to me what implications this will cause? If your comfortable using bios, it will come up no more than a secondary / tirsiary hard drive...if they are not comfortable having it in their pc while their os is up, they can always enter command line just after POST and use diskpart that way.

Or even more secure, if the person the guy asks doesnt want to put it in their computer at all, they can set it up in a spare system, use the NIC to run ILO and access command line remotely...

Sent from my GT-I9205 using Tapatalk

Last edited by jordyn89; 14th February 2014 at 08:37.
jordyn89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2014, 08:45   #25
chompy
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
chompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,765
Car(s): Because racecar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jordyn89 View Post
Explain to me what implications this will cause? If your comfortable using bios, it will come up no more than a secondary / tirsiary hard drive...if they are not comfortable having it in their pc while their os is up, they can always enter command line just after POST and use diskpart that way.

Or even more secure, if the person the guy asks doesnt want to put it in their computer at all, they can set it up in a spare system, use the NIC to run ILO and access command line remotely...

Sent from my GT-I9205 using Tapatalk
It's a guy with a PC, not a server ILO isn't in PCs, he'd need IPMI or a vPro or something, but I doubt anyone he knows would have that kind of technology at their disposal.

I think MuZiZZle is just being a dick
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2014, 08:45   #26
MuZiZZle
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport PrepNorth East Region Member
 
MuZiZZle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 7,786
Car(s): Phase 2 VTS , E61 M5
iTrader Score: 5 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jordyn89 View Post
Explain to me what implications this will cause? If your comfortable using bios, it will come up no more than a secondary / tirsiary hard drive...if they are not comfortable having it in their pc while their os is up, they can always enter command line just after POST and use diskpart that way.

Or even more secure, if the person the guy asks doesnt want to put it in their computer at all, they can set it up in a spare system, use the NIC to run ILO and access command line remotely...

Sent from my GT-I9205 using Tapatalk
Because the PC it goes into could do anything to it?!?!?

It could write to the disk and totally fuck up any chance you have of recovering files.

Personally I'd scan it for bad sectors first, then take a dc3dd clone of it.

What do I know though......

Quote:
Originally Posted by chompy View Post
I think MuZiZZle is just being a dick
not really dude, I just know what I'm doing
__________________
Turtle neck, with another on deck, 'case I spill something on it, like some light beer, check!

Last edited by MuZiZZle; 14th February 2014 at 08:48.
MuZiZZle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2014, 08:51   #27
MuZiZZle
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport PrepNorth East Region Member
 
MuZiZZle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 7,786
Car(s): Phase 2 VTS , E61 M5
iTrader Score: 5 (100%)
Default

The guy has pictures of his new born, I'd just do everything I could to make sure I could recover them.
__________________
Turtle neck, with another on deck, 'case I spill something on it, like some light beer, check!
MuZiZZle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2014, 09:00   #28
chompy
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
chompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,765
Car(s): Because racecar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuZiZZle View Post
Because the PC it goes into could do anything to it?!?!?

It could write to the disk and totally fuck up any chance you have of recovering files.

Personally I'd scan it for bad sectors first, then take a dc3dd clone of it.

What do I know though......

not really dude, I just know what I'm doing
Come on, when have you EVER seen any OS (Linux/Windows/Max/UNIX) Write to a secondary/mounted drive without being told to?

Only situation even remotely similar I've seen is mounting an NTFS drive in Linux and destroying the partition table if you don't unmount it cleanly. And that's still technically not being done by accident.

The dick thing was supposed to be tongue in cheek, didn't realize you were in the trade as well

But, I'd agree, taking an image of it would be a good practice, however, you'd need functioning hardware to plug the drive into order to take that backup anyways. So Jordyn's suggestion would still be valid, even if only to boot Ghost/Shadow protect etc to take an image.
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2014, 09:08   #29
MuZiZZle
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport PrepNorth East Region Member
 
MuZiZZle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 7,786
Car(s): Phase 2 VTS , E61 M5
iTrader Score: 5 (100%)
Default

All I know is I have been told to clone disks first, this way everything is intact should anything happen, that's what I was getting at, I wasn't willy waving.

I'm just very careful with files, remember, if a file doesn't exist in 3 places, it doesn't exist, that's my motto and I stick to it
__________________
Turtle neck, with another on deck, 'case I spill something on it, like some light beer, check!
MuZiZZle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2014, 09:10   #30
chompy
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
chompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,765
Car(s): Because racecar
Default

A man with only 2 copies of his data, does not need that data I was also taught that.
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2014, 09:16   #31
MuZiZZle
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport PrepNorth East Region Member
 
MuZiZZle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 7,786
Car(s): Phase 2 VTS , E61 M5
iTrader Score: 5 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chompy View Post
A man with only 2 copies of his data, does not need that data I was also taught that.
it's the best way to live, my Peruvian goat porn is safe!
__________________
Turtle neck, with another on deck, 'case I spill something on it, like some light beer, check!
MuZiZZle is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MuZiZZle For This Useful Post:
Old 23rd February 2014, 10:17   #32
marcusd
Saxperience Post Whore
Central South Region MemberNorth West Region Member
 
marcusd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: warrington
Posts: 7,551
Car(s): posi blue mk2 2003 vtr
iTrader Score: 29 (100%)
Default

ok have old hdd and a thingy to plug it in too, only comes up with format? or view stuff but the stuff backed up on there is from 2012? anything I can do to view anything left on there? in dos or something was mentioned?
marcusd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:02.