Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > General Forums > General Chat...

General Chat... This forum is for general chit-chat, banter, exchange of information, etc. Pretty much everything goes... within reason!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th June 2018, 17:10   #1
karl_mhp
L-plater
 
karl_mh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wirral
Posts: 50
Car(s): 106 GTI - 106 GTI shell - New 106 Rallye shell
Default 106 Gti OBD location

Welshpug gave me some pointers the other week on where to find the OBD, now i know it has to be within reach of the drivers seat but didn't know what it looked like, the dash is now back together and was wondering if anyone knows if the attached picture is the OBD on the 106 Gti ?

This doesn't appear to plug in anywhere that i can find and is located around the steering column area
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_0389.jpg   IMG_0390.jpg  
karl_mh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2018, 19:13   #2
MartinObviously
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
MartinObviously's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth
Posts: 3,025
Car(s): Peugeot 106 1.5D Peugeot 106 GTI '78 XJ-S
Default

All 106's have the communication port on the passenger side next to the bonnet release by the fuse box.

If it's a single plug ECU after 1996 it will have a big brown square plug (well it's actually the female end so it's a socket). I think it's about 15 pin. it's chunky, about 2 inches by 1 inch.

That yellow plug is for dashboard dimming OR for the headlight levellers.
__________________
The rain kept a trollin'
MartinObviously is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2018, 21:03   #3
karl_mhp
L-plater
 
karl_mh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wirral
Posts: 50
Car(s): 106 GTI - 106 GTI shell - New 106 Rallye shell
Default

Ok i need to check if the brown socket is there, can't remember seeing one though. Cheers for the pointers.
karl_mh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 08:38   #4
Chipwizards
Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 476
Default

It depends if your chassis loom matches your engine loom. Very early looms had a two-pin diag connector in the engine bay for engine diagnostics only.
Chipwizards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 19:40   #5
karl_mhp
L-plater
 
karl_mh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wirral
Posts: 50
Car(s): 106 GTI - 106 GTI shell - New 106 Rallye shell
Default

Very interesting..... the engine loom is out of my (unmodified)1998 crashed donor car i purchased in 2005 and the interior loom was the original loom in the car i am currently building which was also built in 1998, i have now posted the engine loom photos to include numbers just like you suggested

Really stupid question coming up!! the interior loom was lightened (all unnecessary crap has been professionally removed by a Pug specialist) electric windows , airbags etc - have you ever heard of a loom that had the OBD removed? i haven't but that means nothing.
karl_mh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2018, 18:48   #6
MartinObviously
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
MartinObviously's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth
Posts: 3,025
Car(s): Peugeot 106 1.5D Peugeot 106 GTI '78 XJ-S
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karl_mh View Post
Very interesting..... the engine loom is out of my (unmodified)1998 crashed donor car i purchased in 2005 and the interior loom was the original loom in the car i am currently building which was also built in 1998, i have now posted the engine loom photos to include numbers just like you suggested

Really stupid question coming up!! the interior loom was lightened (all unnecessary crap has been professionally removed by a Pug specialist) electric windows , airbags etc - have you ever heard of a loom that had the OBD removed? i haven't but that means nothing.
Nobody in their right mind would remove the diagnostics plug. Especially not on a car with a lightened loom for motorsport/other event use?

Imagine having engine trouble suddenly at a critical point and not being able to diagnose it!?
__________________
The rain kept a trollin'
MartinObviously is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2018, 19:44   #7
karl_mhp
L-plater
 
karl_mh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wirral
Posts: 50
Car(s): 106 GTI - 106 GTI shell - New 106 Rallye shell
Default

It does seem like a daft thing to do, Iíll take the dash out and have a proper look.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
karl_mh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:44.