Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Citroen Saxo Related Forums > Your Saxo Photos / Videos / Progress Reports > Non Saxo Photos / Videos / Progress Reports

Non Saxo Photos / Videos / Progress Reports Please share photos/videos of your non saxo in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th December 2012, 14:30   #41
welshpug
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
welshpug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Wales
Posts: 3,010
Car(s): ZX 16v, 205 GTI, 309 Goodwood, 405 MI16.
iTrader Score: 1 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross View Post
As above, it's the stock ecu's model number.

A better option is a predator ecu from andy (Luther on here). Cheap, mappable by anywhere, and designed for exactly this. He even has base maps he can send you so you can do the setup at home before he (or someone else) maps it.

Plug and play too
not that cheap, and hardly anyone can/wants to map them.
welshpug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 14:30   #42
e8_pqck
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
e8_pqck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Midlands
Posts: 2,533
Car(s): AX 16v Turbo
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Default

743 cam from catcams is the latest grind and can be bought seperately for £125+VAT+p&p (162.50). then just use the exhaust cam.

You want less overlap and more lift for a turbo cam, they are an improvement over standard. I'm sure i got blowby on the pugsport cams which have more overlap and only slightly more lift so not ideal.

As someone else says, no reason why you can open up the exhaust ports and match them to the gasket. The standard TU exhaust ports are really small so any imporvement here will be worth doing IMO.

From the graphs i have seen, the GT28 will be a tad laggy. From another thread i remember Boni (another member) who had just come from a meeting with garrett about suplying turbo's for an engine he was developing at work. For 300bhp they recommended no more than a GT25 and that was from Garretts own engineers.

As Ross says, save your money on better things than expensive rad/intercooler setups. im using a corsa diesel rad with an ebay special 450x225x67mm intercooler with 2.5" pipework all the way through. The intercooler cost me apx £70 and the rad was £30 delivered.
e8_pqck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 14:50   #43
sexy_gt
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
sexy_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Grimsby United Kingdom (England)
Posts: 5,489
Car(s): SUPERCHARGED saxo vts
iTrader Score: 25 (100%)
Default

if your interested in a used gmc rad/intercooler... last time i was there, he had a modified used combo. may be worth a phone call
__________________
POCKET ROCKET TIME ATTACK CHAMPIONS 2015-2016...
sexy_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 14:54   #44
sexy_gt
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
sexy_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Grimsby United Kingdom (England)
Posts: 5,489
Car(s): SUPERCHARGED saxo vts
iTrader Score: 25 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by welshpug View Post
not that cheap, and hardly anyone can/wants to map them.
cheapest aftermarket on the market though?
__________________
POCKET ROCKET TIME ATTACK CHAMPIONS 2015-2016...
sexy_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 15:13   #45
Jack-Cooley
Frequent Poster
 
Jack-Cooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Worksop
Posts: 571
Car(s): 106 GTI's/Half a turbo project
iTrader Score: 1 (100%)
Default

As above I do keep thinking about dta & stuff since I can get the ecu cheap & the loom so I might just go for it. We'll see how money pans out

Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
Jack-Cooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 15:16   #46
luthor1
Established Member
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,802
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by welshpug View Post
not that cheap, and hardly anyone can/wants to map them.
GMC, NMS, Atspeed, Mikeanics, ME in the South, covers pretty much the whole of the country, and that's off the top of my head

£500 no loom required, no VAT. No other ECU even enters the competition on price, let alone comes away with a medal.

If you can't map it then your not a mapper you're a salesman, they are SO simple to map I teach people to do it themselves over the internet using teamviewer and an LC-1.

EDIT: DTA S40 won't do 4-wire stepper motor idle control either. It's not a bad ECU, quite the contrary, but let's compare apples with apples

Last edited by luthor1; 26th December 2012 at 15:24.
luthor1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 15:16   #47
Rossp
Super Moderator
Track / Motorsport PrepCentral Counties Region MemberContent ContributorSouth East Region MemberEast Anglia Region MemberEast Midlands Region Member
 
Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cambridge(ish), UK.
Posts: 10,584
Blog Entries: 5
Car(s): 2015 Audi Exclusive RS4 Avant
iTrader Score: 5 (100%)
Default

And yeah - it's megasquirt. Brand snobbery plays a huge part. Free software? Must be shit. How untrue. It's a real shame that attitude still persists - but we still have mappers peddling that bollocks so it's no surprise.
__________________
COMMUNITY RULES|SELLING RULES|NEWBIE RULES|SAX-P SHOP|SEARCH FIRST!
Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 15:25   #48
welshpug
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
welshpug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Wales
Posts: 3,010
Car(s): ZX 16v, 205 GTI, 309 Goodwood, 405 MI16.
iTrader Score: 1 (100%)
Default

when it becomes as reliable as any other non MS based ecu, you'll find a lot more using it, till that time comes...

dta can be had for under £500, emerald £595, omex £600.
welshpug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 15:27   #49
luthor1
Established Member
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,802
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by welshpug View Post
when it becomes as reliable as any other non MS based ecu, you'll find a lot more using it, till that time comes...

dta can be had for under £500, emerald £595, omex £600.
...cool a shiny box containing an ECU not connected in any way to you car

I've got customers in Scotland who have ran the ECU for over 2 years, SexyGT has had his a couple of years now and all he does is thrash it on trackdays, now it's a 220 wheel BHP supercharged monster, still running OK.
luthor1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 15:28   #50
gazza808
Frequent Poster
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
gazza808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by welshpug View Post
when it becomes as reliable as any other non MS based ecu, you'll find a lot more using it, till that time comes...

dta can be had for under £500, emerald £595, omex £600.
Built 4, installed 3, ran mine for about 30k now was my daily no hassles or issues.
You can get factory built units using surface mount components etc so how is that any less reliable than any other built in the same way?
gazza808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 15:28   #51
welshpug
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
welshpug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Wales
Posts: 3,010
Car(s): ZX 16v, 205 GTI, 309 Goodwood, 405 MI16.
iTrader Score: 1 (100%)
Default

my box isn't shiny, its matt black
welshpug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 15:51   #52
Jack-Cooley
Frequent Poster
 
Jack-Cooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Worksop
Posts: 571
Car(s): 106 GTI's/Half a turbo project
iTrader Score: 1 (100%)
Default

Aaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh so much banter!!!!!!!!!!






I love it!!


Righty so ecu wise I don't reall give a fuck which I use. They all work all tested and proven.

And they can all handle powah..

I'm more worried about the internals and externals to be honest guys(plus, I'm not a mechanic, I work in a factory, so anything I know is self taught)

Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
Jack-Cooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 15:56   #53
blackie_2k5
Saxperience Hardcore!
Track / Motorsport PrepNorth East Region Member
 
blackie_2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Birtley
Posts: 22,257
Car(s): VTR Turbo, 106 xsi track slag, Transit recovery, B
iTrader Score: 25 (100%)
Default

Any proper mapper will map any ecu, obviously they'll have their preferred ecu, but if they won't take on others then they can't really be classed as a good mapper.

I did read an affiliate on here saying they wouldn't touch them as it'll fall back on them with any issues the ecu may provide.. IMO that's bollox, good mapping is good mapping regardless of what ecu you run.. Problems with the ecu fall with the eu not the mapper customers will generally be made aware of it

But just to throw a spanner in the works a little, Bedford posted about a better ecu.. And better features,

The features ill agree with.. But better ecu, I had my eyes opened to that, most oe ecus are far superior to alot of aftermarket ones as they get thousands chucked and R&D.. And will out live the car in most cases, a lot of aftermarket ones don't

Just limited on features and who can map them, as they are only built to a basic spec and don't allow for other features as they're not needed

But these ecus can't be mapped by lots of ppl like some can, so after market is defo advisable
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stissy View Post
EDIT: i give up on you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giraffe View Post
FUCK YES. I won on the internet.

Last edited by blackie_2k5; 26th December 2012 at 21:01.
blackie_2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 16:04   #54
e8_pqck
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
e8_pqck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Midlands
Posts: 2,533
Car(s): AX 16v Turbo
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Default

Why buy new?

An ECU doesnt wear out or have serviceable parts that need replacing. Find one thats been mounted in the car already with a map and a loom and it will only need tweaking for your setup instead of a weeks worth of mapping and fine tuning to get it all to work. You've found a second hand turbo so why not a second hand ECU? then you really will get value for money instead of £500+ for a MegaDTOmex.
e8_pqck is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to e8_pqck For This Useful Post:
Old 26th December 2012, 19:39   #55
Jack-Cooley
Frequent Poster
 
Jack-Cooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Worksop
Posts: 571
Car(s): 106 GTI's/Half a turbo project
iTrader Score: 1 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by e8_pqck View Post
Why buy new?



An ECU doesnt wear out or have serviceable parts that need replacing. Find one thats been mounted in the car already with a map and a loom and it will only need tweaking for your setup instead of a weeks worth of mapping and fine tuning to get it all to work. You've found a second hand turbo so why not a second hand ECU? then you really will get value for money instead of £500+ for a MegaDTOmex.

Other than braking due to not being able to afford things.

They break because ecu fails. I hear omex has problems with ignition. Dunno if thays true tho..



Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
Jack-Cooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 19:50   #56
jpsaxo
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport PrepWest Midlands Region MemberEast Midlands Region Member
 
jpsaxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,523
Car(s): Mango Westcoast
iTrader Score: 11 (100%)
Default

Can't beat a good discussion....

Ill keep my eye on this, should be an interesting thread
__________________
PFC Featured Mango 16v 220+bhp Sandy Brown engine'd Westcoast

My 2015 Project thread ---> http://www.saxperience.com/forum/sho...202333&page=45
jpsaxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 19:53   #57
JoeHindle
Established Member
North West Region Member
 
JoeHindle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Preston
Posts: 2,005
Car(s): '06 Seat Ibiza FR 20vT
Default

Nice to see you took the plunge Jack, welcome! As you can see from the last 3 pages- I was telling you the truth about SaxP
__________________
I didn't choose the French car life, the French car life chose me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0rang3peel View Post
sounds fucking horrendous
JoeHindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 20:04   #58
Jack-Cooley
Frequent Poster
 
Jack-Cooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Worksop
Posts: 571
Car(s): 106 GTI's/Half a turbo project
iTrader Score: 1 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeHindle View Post
Nice to see you took the plunge Jack, welcome! As you can see from the last 3 pages- I was telling you the truth about SaxP

Yeah mate fuck'n love it so much help too

Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
Jack-Cooley is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jack-Cooley For This Useful Post:
Old 26th December 2012, 20:07   #59
blackie_2k5
Saxperience Hardcore!
Track / Motorsport PrepNorth East Region Member
 
blackie_2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Birtley
Posts: 22,257
Car(s): VTR Turbo, 106 xsi track slag, Transit recovery, B
iTrader Score: 25 (100%)
Default

It's kms that have problems with ignition drivers, not heard of any probs with omex but they may have them
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stissy View Post
EDIT: i give up on you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giraffe View Post
FUCK YES. I won on the internet.
blackie_2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2012, 20:13   #60
sexy_gt
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
sexy_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Grimsby United Kingdom (England)
Posts: 5,489
Car(s): SUPERCHARGED saxo vts
iTrader Score: 25 (100%)
Default

i think the predator ecu is still better than mapping a boosted car on stock ecu...

look at it like this...

you map your std ecu... you will need to buy an external boost map controler, extra money. not a lot but extra... when you want to sell that ecu if at all... you wont get much for it alone. literally buttons (unless sold with the car obviously).

and whats a map on the stock ecu cost? £250-300 at a wild guess?

andy (luthor1) please confirm but for the £500 predator you get the first map free? (f.kin bargain) i know at least when i bought my predator ecu i was given a first free remap. may i add every roller ive been on they have commented on how sweet the map was (aw tracksport, corten miller and GMC (and he will pick at something if he thinks its wrong lol)). not saying there is anything wrong with a chipwizard map, just stating that andys good too.

now if you was to sell a predator ecu you will get a decent bit back from the purchase price, ive seen them go for £350!

imo its a no brainer for the ecu.

the predator ecu even comes ready to run boost. ive used mine to run throttle bodies and supercharged boost.
__________________
POCKET ROCKET TIME ATTACK CHAMPIONS 2015-2016...
sexy_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:48.