Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Citroen Saxo Related Forums > Saxo Engine/Performance

Saxo Engine/Performance If you're interested in tuning Saxo engines, or if you need to know something which is engine related... this is the place for you.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th July 2013, 20:52   #1
wullvfr
Established Member
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
wullvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: killin,perthshire
Posts: 1,562
Car(s): Audi a3 1.8sport,kawasaki zx9r c2,Yamaha R1 track
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Default Vts ecu

What ecu will my w reg 2000 vts have?

If it were a 3 pin ecu and I buy a vts engine that has a single pin ecu do I even need to use that ecu....Can I just use the ecu that was already in my car?

Cheers
wullvfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 01:51   #2
vtrtommie
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 175
Car(s): 52 1.4 furio, 01 1.6 VTS 16v
Default

you would need a new loom?
vtrtommie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 02:17   #3
ThrushMotorsport
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
ThrushMotorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 1,092
Car(s): Turbo Saxo vtr, 2010 Octavia VRS TSI, mk3 Ibiza cu
iTrader Score: 3 (100%)
Default

W reg is either single plug, it may even be a crossover loom, it's that sort of period for that reg
ThrushMotorsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 08:49   #4
Tom5190
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport PrepCentral Counties Region MemberNorth East Region Member
 
Tom5190's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Someones Bumhole
Posts: 5,721
Car(s): Mk2 16v Desire
iTrader Score: 10 (100%)
Default

W reg is likely to be a single plug ECU but the looms can varey on that age. If it is and you want a straight swap then you need to check the loom before you buy anything. look at this:

http://www.saxperience.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=441413
__________________
Tom5190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 08:54   #5
Chr15
Saxperience Addict
South East Region MemberEast Anglia Region Member
 
Chr15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 11,590
Car(s): ITB'd Saxo VTS & Mazda 6 MPS
iTrader Score: 6 (100%)
Default

my old one was a w-reg that was single
Chr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 09:30   #6
wullvfr
Established Member
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
wullvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: killin,perthshire
Posts: 1,562
Car(s): Audi a3 1.8sport,kawasaki zx9r c2,Yamaha R1 track
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Default

The engine I am looking at is coming with loom and ecu so shouldn't be an issue I hope.....
wullvfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 09:48   #7
wullvfr
Established Member
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
wullvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: killin,perthshire
Posts: 1,562
Car(s): Audi a3 1.8sport,kawasaki zx9r c2,Yamaha R1 track
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Default

Right I'm getting a little bit confused here.....and stressed

Right if the engine I buy came with no ecu why can I not just use the ecu that is already in my car along with the loom etc?
wullvfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 09:54   #8
Gabbastard
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
Gabbastard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,308
iTrader Score: 16 (100%)
Default

All the engines are the same. A couple of sensors change, but if you want to use the existing loom and ecu in your car with a new engine, then the most youll need to do is swap some of the snsors over to suit.
Gabbastard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 13:45   #9
Tom5190
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport PrepCentral Counties Region MemberNorth East Region Member
 
Tom5190's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Someones Bumhole
Posts: 5,721
Car(s): Mk2 16v Desire
iTrader Score: 10 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wullvfr View Post
Right I'm getting a little bit confused here.....and stressed

Right if the engine I buy came with no ecu why can I not just use the ecu that is already in my car along with the loom etc?
You can. If you have both engines there then you will have no problems you can swap over what needs swapping over.
__________________
Tom5190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 14:13   #10
wullvfr
Established Member
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
wullvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: killin,perthshire
Posts: 1,562
Car(s): Audi a3 1.8sport,kawasaki zx9r c2,Yamaha R1 track
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Default

Good stuff.

Just about to buy and organise the courier for this engine,he seems a bit apprehensive about me paying by bank transfer and having the engine up.ifted by a courier even though it is already on a pallet.......I always thought paying by bank transfer was the best as it covers both parties.....
wullvfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 16:12   #11
Gabbastard
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
Gabbastard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,308
iTrader Score: 16 (100%)
Default

Bank transfer doesnt cover you at all.
Gabbastard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 16:33   #12
wullvfr
Established Member
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
wullvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: killin,perthshire
Posts: 1,562
Car(s): Audi a3 1.8sport,kawasaki zx9r c2,Yamaha R1 track
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabbastard View Post
Bank transfer doesnt cover you at all.

But it proves monies has been paid into their account and vice versa......
wullvfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 17:56   #13
AlexFocusST
Regular Poster
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
AlexFocusST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Patras Greece
Posts: 352
Car(s): Ford Focus 2.5 ST Citroen Saxo Vts 16v race car
Default

Compare the loom you have on your engine with the loom on the engine you have recently acquired ,
If they are the same just plug & play with the cars loom,
if not just transfer the engine loom from your car with all its sensors onto the new engine.

Ps Paypal costs just as much as bank transfer but you are immediately informed about your balance and covered in case of wrong doing either by seller or buyer
__________________
Annie's thread HAAAM spec http://www.saxperience.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=445920
Scrapso's thread 106-saxo cup/N2 spec
http://www.saxperience.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=469645
AlexFocusST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 18:06   #14
wullvfr
Established Member
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
wullvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: killin,perthshire
Posts: 1,562
Car(s): Audi a3 1.8sport,kawasaki zx9r c2,Yamaha R1 track
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Default

For some reason the guy is nt happy about giving me his sort code and account number for transferring the money......I tried to explain that I gain nothing from having these numbers and that all I can ultimately do is credit his account.

He doesn't have paypal either

So what is going to happen is(after his dad phoned) through his dads business ill make a card transaction for the amount and his dad will give his son the money.....fookin mental if you ask me but if it keeps them happy then so be it.

I tried to explain to the old man that this way I'm giving him way more details than he was giving me so I'm the one who could theoretically get butt fooked but hey ho......

Courier is organised for Tuesday so hopefully I'll have a up and running vts within the next few weeks.......
wullvfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 18:15   #15
Tom5190
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport PrepCentral Counties Region MemberNorth East Region Member
 
Tom5190's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Someones Bumhole
Posts: 5,721
Car(s): Mk2 16v Desire
iTrader Score: 10 (100%)
Default

I wouldn't do that it would put me off straight away
__________________
Tom5190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 18:22   #16
jeffchiz
Saxperience Post Whore
Central Counties Region MemberEast Midlands Region Member
 
jeffchiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Uppingham, Rutland
Posts: 9,570
Car(s): mk1 JP4'd VTR, '16 Fabia Monte Carlo
iTrader Score: 5 (100%)
Default

tell him where to go, plenty of engines floating around, plus tom ^^^ should be selling a standard vts engine soon
__________________
Jenvey'd vts!


Last edited by jeffchiz; 27th July 2013 at 18:24.
jeffchiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 18:24   #17
saxova
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
saxova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lancs
Posts: 4,122
Car(s): JP4S'd R.
iTrader Score: 14 (94%)
Default

Aye so many 16v engines about.. If you send the money and they don't send you the engine, you have no leg to stand on.

Tell them to get paypal or lose a sale.
saxova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 18:40   #18
wullvfr
Established Member
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
wullvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: killin,perthshire
Posts: 1,562
Car(s): Audi a3 1.8sport,kawasaki zx9r c2,Yamaha R1 track
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Default

I've got their address anyways and the courier is collecting on Tuesday from his dads business so I can't see much going wrong and tbh nothing at all should go wrong.

I genuinely feel they are naive and haven't dealt much with shit like this......

It's only 70 miles away from me so I'd gladly pay a visit if they ripped me off.....
wullvfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 18:42   #19
Tom5190
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport PrepCentral Counties Region MemberNorth East Region Member
 
Tom5190's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Someones Bumhole
Posts: 5,721
Car(s): Mk2 16v Desire
iTrader Score: 10 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffchiz View Post
tell him where to go, plenty of engines floating around, plus tom ^^^ should be selling a standard vts engine soon
Why on earth would I do that when I have another engine bay for it go in
__________________
Tom5190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013, 19:21   #20
jeffchiz
Saxperience Post Whore
Central Counties Region MemberEast Midlands Region Member
 
jeffchiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Uppingham, Rutland
Posts: 9,570
Car(s): mk1 JP4'd VTR, '16 Fabia Monte Carlo
iTrader Score: 5 (100%)
Default

haha i didnt realise it would be going in the more door!
__________________
Jenvey'd vts!

jeffchiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:10.