Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Citroen Saxo Related Forums > Saxo Problems & Queries

Saxo Problems & Queries If you're having problems with your Saxo and you're after a bit of advice, check this forum out...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th August 2019, 20:05   #1
Alexa
L-plater
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 85
Default Dashboard light brightness

Can I increase brightness on 1.4?
Alexa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 12:54   #2
stevo67
Saxperience Hardcore!
 
stevo67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: smurfland.
Posts: 17,340
Car(s): Ex saxo owner.
Default

Not sure,but look for a little thumb wheel under the steering column shroud.
stevo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 16:36   #3
S6SAXO
Newbie
South East Region MemberEast Anglia Region Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Colchester, Essex & Suffolk
Posts: 10
Car(s): Two-Tone VTR, immaculate - 25k!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexa View Post
Can I increase brightness on 1.4?
I think you could probably change the bulbs that light the back, if theres isn't a wheel under where Stevo's mentioned bud.
S6SAXO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 18:36   #4
aldred309uk
Frequent Poster
 
aldred309uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Blackburn, Lancashire
Posts: 593
Car(s): 2002 Citroen Saxo desire 2001 Volvo V40 1.9D
Default

On my 1.1 desire you press or hold the right hand button in the dash itself, left one for resetting the odometer, right one for dash brightness.
aldred309uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 20:13   #5
Alexa
L-plater
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 85
Default

Wheel under the steering column is for head lights.If I press right button in the dash it starts setting hours and minutes,so I can use that either. Maybe I should change bulb, but where do I start -how to do that?
Alexa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2019, 11:00   #6
stevo67
Saxperience Hardcore!
 
stevo67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: smurfland.
Posts: 17,340
Car(s): Ex saxo owner.
Default

Mk1 or mk2 saxo ,which one have got?
stevo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2019, 20:37   #7
aldred309uk
Frequent Poster
 
aldred309uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Blackburn, Lancashire
Posts: 593
Car(s): 2002 Citroen Saxo desire 2001 Volvo V40 1.9D
Default

The button in the instrument cluster is on a mk2 saxo
aldred309uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2019, 21:07   #8
Alexa
L-plater
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 85
Default

It's mk2.
Alexa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2019, 12:29   #9
aldred309uk
Frequent Poster
 
aldred309uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Blackburn, Lancashire
Posts: 593
Car(s): 2002 Citroen Saxo desire 2001 Volvo V40 1.9D
Default

Were you pressing the right hand instrument cluster with the engine running and the lights on?
aldred309uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2019, 17:14   #10
Scottp
Administrator
Content ContributorScotland Region Member
 
Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Glasgow United Kingdom (Scotland)
Posts: 26,064
Car(s): Chelski Traktor
Default

http://www.saxperience.com/forum/showthread.php?t=73370

might be useful
__________________
Saxperience Blogs|iTrader Explained |Newbies Information|Articles|FAQ's

If you feel something untoward is being posted hit the button at the side of the post.
Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2019, 19:26   #11
Alexa
L-plater
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 85
Default

Thank you guys engine was not running when I pressed the button. But still I would like more light, only left half let's say has dissent light ,but the right one not so good.
Alexa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2019, 18:03   #12
aldred309uk
Frequent Poster
 
aldred309uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Blackburn, Lancashire
Posts: 593
Car(s): 2002 Citroen Saxo desire 2001 Volvo V40 1.9D
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexa View Post
Thank you guys engine was not running when I pressed the button. But still I would like more light, only left half let's say has dissent light ,but the right one not so good.
Try using the right hand button with the engine and lights on. The left button resets the service interval and the right hand button does the clock. With the engine on, the left button swaps between total and recent mileage and resets the recent mileage and the right button changes the dash brightness. Try again with engine and lights on and let us know if that works please.
aldred309uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2019, 19:24   #13
mtee
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
Car(s): Saxo 1.4i SX automatic 2000
Default

If the dash lights are with bulbs (that is, not LEDs), one bulb may have blown or become sooty. If this is the case, just replace all bulbs there.
Note that also the heater controls, the cigarette lighter receptable and the automatic gearbox gear indicator are illuminated with tiny bulbs.
I've done all these bulbs in my Saxo 2000. All old bulbs were either blown or sooty black.
mtee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 11:06   #14
dturbo
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 162
Default

As above, if the illumination is uneven it is probably a blown bulb. That said, the brightness button (which also sets the clock if held in) only works with the engine running (and lights on of course otherwise the dash doesn't illuminate). Short presses cycle the brightness through increasing brightness then back down again after it reaches the brightest setting.

Last edited by dturbo; 25th August 2019 at 11:16.
dturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 16:04   #15
Alexa
L-plater
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtee View Post
If the dash lights are with bulbs (that is, not LEDs), one bulb may have blown or become sooty. If this is the case, just replace all bulbs there.
Note that also the heater controls, the cigarette lighter receptable and the automatic gearbox gear indicator are illuminated with tiny bulbs.
I've done all these bulbs in my Saxo 2000. All old bulbs were either blown or sooty black.
How did you change the bulb?
Alexa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 16:37   #16
mtee
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
Car(s): Saxo 1.4i SX automatic 2000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexa View Post
How did you change the bulb?
Remove the plastic "collar" between the steering-wheel and the dashboard by undoing the screws that keep the top and the bottom parts together.

Undo the 2 screws above the speedometer. There may be 2 more screws behind the steering column collar, I don't remember exactly. Now you can detach the plastic trim around the speedometer unit.

Undo the screws that fix the speedometer unit to the dashboard, pull out the speedometer unit, and disconnect its cables.

Now you can replace all bad bulbs. The bulbs are not expensive, so once you are there just replace all bulbs that are even slightly dark.
mtee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2019, 16:44   #17
mtee
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
Car(s): Saxo 1.4i SX automatic 2000
Default

See also http://www.saxperience.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=338918
mtee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2019, 13:25   #18
Alexa
L-plater
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 85
Default

Big thanks!!!!
Alexa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2019, 19:22   #19
Alexa
L-plater
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 85
Default

After removing the dashboard I found out that unfortunately there are no bulbs,only light integrated in to circuit board,so there is no nothing to change.
Alexa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2019, 04:29   #20
mtee
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
Car(s): Saxo 1.4i SX automatic 2000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexa View Post
unfortunately there are no bulbs,only light integrated in to circuit board
Hm, then your car must be younger than mine. Maybe it's possible to replace a broken LED? Or, you need to get a new or secondhand replacement circuit board or speedometer unit.
mtee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:33.