Mobile Devices: Lite Theme Citroën: Citroën Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Citroen Saxo Related Forums > Saxo Engine/Performance

Saxo Engine/Performance If you're interested in tuning Saxo engines, or if you need to know something which is engine related... this is the place for you.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st August 2012, 08:58   #1
Malley
Infrequent Poster
 
Malley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dinnington, Sheffield, S25.
Posts: 146
Car(s): Citroén Saxo VTR Mk1 (Venetian Red)
Exclamation 'S Conversion Help

Hi all,

Recently found out that the 'R engine in my sax has got some bad stem seals as its puffing blue smoke, however ive the chance to buy an 'S engine with everything, by everything i mean:

Engine,
Starter Motor,
Alternator,
ECU,
Engine Loom,
Interior Loom,
New Radiator,
106 1.1 Gearbox,
Standard 'S Mani.

My question is this, if i change the entire loom (Interior/Engine) will i still need to get the ECU unlocked and remove the small immobiliser box to have the car running?

Also, is there any alterations need to be made to any of the loom in order for it to work?

Sorry about the massive post, just wanting to know which would be easiest option as im planning on converting to an 'S in near future anyway and figured might aswell get it done while i have a reason to

Any and all help is appreciated.

Mal.
Malley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 09:09   #2
sam_16v
Saxperience Forum Bum
South West Region Member
 
sam_16v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: plymouth
Posts: 2,925
Car(s): mk2 VTS
iTrader Score: 14 (100%)
Default

youw need a unlocked ecu mate and remove black box also what reg is the s engine and what reg is your car? you will also need radiator hoses top and bottom and exhaust downpipe
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam View Post
Oo paul these vts's are spose to be quick with cams want to take it for a drive to see what its like? Alright dave BARRRPP... Cambelt "I dont like being here" snap. I reakon its something like that.
ASTRA MK4 2.0 SRI 16V
sam_16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 09:18   #3
sam_16v
Saxperience Forum Bum
South West Region Member
 
sam_16v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: plymouth
Posts: 2,925
Car(s): mk2 VTS
iTrader Score: 14 (100%)
Default

you should only need engine loom mate dont need to change interior loom
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam View Post
Oo paul these vts's are spose to be quick with cams want to take it for a drive to see what its like? Alright dave BARRRPP... Cambelt "I dont like being here" snap. I reakon its something like that.
ASTRA MK4 2.0 SRI 16V
sam_16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 09:20   #4
Malley
Infrequent Poster
 
Malley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dinnington, Sheffield, S25.
Posts: 146
Car(s): Citroén Saxo VTR Mk1 (Venetian Red)
Default

Its a '04 engine/loom with single plug ecu -.- guessing it'll make it slightly trickier with mine being a '97 :L Its also only done 72,000 miles aswell and also thinking of the boosting option when money permits 3
Malley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 09:20   #5
Malley
Infrequent Poster
 
Malley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dinnington, Sheffield, S25.
Posts: 146
Car(s): Citroén Saxo VTR Mk1 (Venetian Red)
Default

'01 engine* My bad, keyboards a dick.
Malley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 09:22   #6
sam_16v
Saxperience Forum Bum
South West Region Member
 
sam_16v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: plymouth
Posts: 2,925
Car(s): mk2 VTS
iTrader Score: 14 (100%)
Default

right get a engine loom from a mk1 and just plug it to your current interior loom its all plug and play you might have to replace a couple of the engine sensors to suit mk1 loom but its easier that changing interior loom, fuel pump, clocks etc also you will need vts in engine bay fuel lines
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam View Post
Oo paul these vts's are spose to be quick with cams want to take it for a drive to see what its like? Alright dave BARRRPP... Cambelt "I dont like being here" snap. I reakon its something like that.
ASTRA MK4 2.0 SRI 16V
sam_16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 09:32   #7
Malley
Infrequent Poster
 
Malley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dinnington, Sheffield, S25.
Posts: 146
Car(s): Citroén Saxo VTR Mk1 (Venetian Red)
Default

Can't get hold of an engine loom from a Mk1, none on ebay and local scrappers dont have any 'S in -.- Thats why i'd need to change interior, plus i need to do abit of work inside car anyway.

But would it be possible to get the '01 engine to run in mine if i change the entire looms even though its a bit of a task? Also, im not arsing around with ABS off the 'S and i can plumb a fuel return to the standard fuel pump in the 'R from what ive heard/read.
Malley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 09:57   #8
saxova
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
saxova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lancs
Posts: 4,122
Car(s): JP4S'd R.
iTrader Score: 14 (94%)
Default

So you have a single plug 2001 16v engine, That want's to go into a 1997 shell?

Just check and see if the engine loom you got with the 16v engine uses the same connection to the interior loom as yours.

Ie behind the passenger headlight where they join.

If they are they same, it's simple plug and play.

If you changed the interior loom - its all the lights/speakers/rear screen/demister/all controls/clocks etc which basically is a full strip down. Not worth it..

Both are single plug - so chances are it will fit. However being a 2001 engine, that's around the crossover.. But my guess will be that the seller would of sold the cross over loom - then used a normal single plug loom.

saxova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 10:01   #9
Malley
Infrequent Poster
 
Malley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dinnington, Sheffield, S25.
Posts: 146
Car(s): Citroén Saxo VTR Mk1 (Venetian Red)
Default

Cheers saxova, i'll have to get intouch and see if its had the cross over loom done.

So if it has its just a case of dropping engine in and plumbing it up and wiring engine loom up and plugging it in, and obviously just removing immobiliser box and unlocking ecu?
Malley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 10:06   #10
saxova
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
saxova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lancs
Posts: 4,122
Car(s): JP4S'd R.
iTrader Score: 14 (94%)
Default

You wouldn't want the cross over loom lol

You want a normal single plug loom - which the new 16v engine will probs come with.

Yeah it's pretty straight forward, you might have to grind a touch off the bottom of the ECU engine mount for it to fit.

I'd also get VTS shafts though. Bit thicker / stronger + come with a intermediate bearing to reduce torque steer.
saxova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 10:10   #11
Malley
Infrequent Poster
 
Malley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dinnington, Sheffield, S25.
Posts: 146
Car(s): Citroén Saxo VTR Mk1 (Venetian Red)
Default

So its just the normal loom that it comes with, plug that in wire it all up to engine and should be away (well after having ecu unlocked)?
Malley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 10:14   #12
saxova
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
saxova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lancs
Posts: 4,122
Car(s): JP4S'd R.
iTrader Score: 14 (94%)
Default

Hopefully yeah.

Ask the seller to send you a picture of the connection that goes to the interior loom?

Then see if it matches yours - if it does.. then yeah simple plug n play mate.

If not your going to need a '97 vts single plug loom
saxova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 10:17   #13
Malley
Infrequent Poster
 
Malley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dinnington, Sheffield, S25.
Posts: 146
Car(s): Citroén Saxo VTR Mk1 (Venetian Red)
Default

I'll ask him now Need to go pick car up from garage before i check, and connection for interior loom is behind N/S headlight correct?
Malley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 10:21   #14
saxova
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
saxova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lancs
Posts: 4,122
Car(s): JP4S'd R.
iTrader Score: 14 (94%)
Default

yes sir
saxova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 12:02   #15
Malley
Infrequent Poster
 
Malley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dinnington, Sheffield, S25.
Posts: 146
Car(s): Citroén Saxo VTR Mk1 (Venetian Red)
Default

Apparently its got 2 plugs down bottom N/S light. Anyone have any ideas as to if this is right for '01 'S?
Malley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 12:10   #16
sam_16v
Saxperience Forum Bum
South West Region Member
 
sam_16v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: plymouth
Posts: 2,925
Car(s): mk2 VTS
iTrader Score: 14 (100%)
Default

mk2 = multi plug fitting to interior loom
mk1 = one tiny plug to interior loom

your gonna need a mk1 vts loom and dont use a 106 gti one their different again
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam View Post
Oo paul these vts's are spose to be quick with cams want to take it for a drive to see what its like? Alright dave BARRRPP... Cambelt "I dont like being here" snap. I reakon its something like that.
ASTRA MK4 2.0 SRI 16V
sam_16v is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sam_16v For This Useful Post:
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:55.