Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Citroen Saxo Related Forums > Saxo Engine/Performance

Saxo Engine/Performance If you're interested in tuning Saxo engines, or if you need to know something which is engine related... this is the place for you.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th March 2011, 20:39   #1
zola_cfc
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Weymouth
Posts: 25
Car(s): Saxo Ob lol 1.6i Green looking to change colour
Default VTR to VTS Engine Change HELP!!!

Hi i have a green saxo 1.6i vtr i have brought a vts engine 1.6i off of a friend, he also gave me wire loom and ecu but ecu is useless unless i get it unlocked. i am going to change but i wanted to use my ecu, fuel relay (next to ecu) and key and ignition barrle that i already have can i do this???

Any help appreciated
zola_cfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2011, 21:35   #2
zola_cfc
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Weymouth
Posts: 25
Car(s): Saxo Ob lol 1.6i Green looking to change colour
Default

so ive been told prob better to unlock ecu and use vts wire loom. now do i have to cut and weld engine mount or is it straight swap? my r reg vtr and its vts from 03 plate??
zola_cfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2011, 21:49   #3
saxo-parts
Saxperience Post Whore
 
saxo-parts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ilkeston derbyshire
Posts: 9,826
Car(s): C2 VTR stripped, 406hdi, clio 172
iTrader Score: 27 (100%)
Default

2003 loom won't plug into the car as they are 3 plug ecu's and have different chassis connections. no welding needed to fit the engine in though
__________________
For all Saxo parts,servicing,mods,MOTs,give us a call,see our section under Affiliates for details!! www.saxo-parts.co.uk
Also see our items on ebay http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/citroen-pu...id=p4340.l2562
saxo-parts is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to saxo-parts For This Useful Post:
Old 12th March 2011, 21:54   #4
zola_cfc
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Weymouth
Posts: 25
Car(s): Saxo Ob lol 1.6i Green looking to change colour
Default

cos i have the vts engine and loom and ecu all as one, but nothing else so would you recommend that i get ecu unlocked?
zola_cfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2011, 22:20   #5
OGGY-VTR
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stevenage Herts
Posts: 155
Car(s): Yellow X reg Saxo Vtr
Default

yeah i would get the ecu unlocked, will cause alot less hassle
OGGY-VTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2011, 22:25   #6
saxo-parts
Saxperience Post Whore
 
saxo-parts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ilkeston derbyshire
Posts: 9,826
Car(s): C2 VTR stripped, 406hdi, clio 172
iTrader Score: 27 (100%)
Default

but how are you going to connect a 2003 loom to a 97 shell? the connection is completely different,would think getting a single plug loom,ecu etc would be easier then cutting and splicing wires in
__________________
For all Saxo parts,servicing,mods,MOTs,give us a call,see our section under Affiliates for details!! www.saxo-parts.co.uk
Also see our items on ebay http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/citroen-pu...id=p4340.l2562
saxo-parts is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to saxo-parts For This Useful Post:
Old 12th March 2011, 22:42   #7
zola_cfc
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Weymouth
Posts: 25
Car(s): Saxo Ob lol 1.6i Green looking to change colour
Default

yeah lol i got 3 pin ecu and wire loom for the vts engine so was going to totaly strip out vtr engine with ecu and wire loom and put new vts engine with the ecu unlocked will i have problems?
zola_cfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2011, 23:20   #8
saxo-parts
Saxperience Post Whore
 
saxo-parts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ilkeston derbyshire
Posts: 9,826
Car(s): C2 VTR stripped, 406hdi, clio 172
iTrader Score: 27 (100%)
Default

yes as the 2003 loom won't plug into a 97 car
__________________
For all Saxo parts,servicing,mods,MOTs,give us a call,see our section under Affiliates for details!! www.saxo-parts.co.uk
Also see our items on ebay http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/citroen-pu...id=p4340.l2562
saxo-parts is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to saxo-parts For This Useful Post:
Old 13th March 2011, 00:10   #9
blackie_2k5
Saxperience Hardcore!
Track / Motorsport PrepNorth East Region Member
 
blackie_2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Birtley
Posts: 22,257
Car(s): VTR Turbo, 106 xsi track slag, Transit recovery, B
iTrader Score: 25 (100%)
Default

ive got a 97 vts convesrion for sale in the next week or 2, £200
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stissy View Post
EDIT: i give up on you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giraffe View Post
FUCK YES. I won on the internet.
blackie_2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2011, 10:19   #10
zola_cfc
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Weymouth
Posts: 25
Car(s): Saxo Ob lol 1.6i Green looking to change colour
Default

so what is the convesrion kit got on it to make it fit?
zola_cfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2011, 11:48   #11
saxo-parts
Saxperience Post Whore
 
saxo-parts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ilkeston derbyshire
Posts: 9,826
Car(s): C2 VTR stripped, 406hdi, clio 172
iTrader Score: 27 (100%)
Default

the correct loom maybe
__________________
For all Saxo parts,servicing,mods,MOTs,give us a call,see our section under Affiliates for details!! www.saxo-parts.co.uk
Also see our items on ebay http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/citroen-pu...id=p4340.l2562
saxo-parts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2011, 12:06   #12
john-paul
Frequent Poster
Track / Motorsport Prep
 
john-paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: hetton/sunderland
Posts: 662
Car(s): 250 BHP jp4 vts
Default

if you car is a 97 you will need a single plug loom and ecu much cheaper and easyer then cutting into both looms to get it to work. + the single plug ecu`s are alot better imo.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by luthor1 View Post
You got over 200bhp, of course you need a new clutch, it will slip like a b***h

Last edited by john-paul; 13th March 2011 at 12:12.
john-paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2011, 21:45   #13
zola_cfc
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Weymouth
Posts: 25
Car(s): Saxo Ob lol 1.6i Green looking to change colour
Default

so if i get a single plug loom can i still use my vtr ecu or does it have to be a vts single plug ecu? cheers guys really helping me understand.
zola_cfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:26.