Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Other... > Gaming, IT, Multimedia & Music > XBox Chat

XBox Chat Please use this forum to discuss X-box related topics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25th October 2013, 00:35   #1
iMystikz
Established Member
 
iMystikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Costa Del Sol
Posts: 1,533
iMystikz is on a distinguished road
Default Transfering Movies/Series from Flash drive to 360.

Can this be done?! I've had a google and apparently it cannot be done but the thread was from a while ago so I'm just wondering if anyone has managed before? I'd like to store some on the Xbox rather than keep using my USB back and forth constantly!
iMystikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2013, 13:08   #2
RobVT
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepNorth East Region Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Redcar, Middlesbrough
Posts: 2,285
Car(s): 16v Rallye S2
iTrader Score: 8 (100%)
RobVT is on a distinguished road
Default

can you not set it up on your laptop and stream them to your xbox?
__________________
RobVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2013, 17:27   #3
marcusd
Saxperience Post Whore
Central South Region MemberNorth West Region Member
 
marcusd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: warrington
Posts: 7,551
Car(s): posi blue mk2 2003 vtr
iTrader Score: 29 (100%)
marcusd is on a distinguished road
Default

only wma files and some mp4 files work on xbox360 I gave up and left em on the usb stick
marcusd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2013, 19:58   #4
iMystikz
Established Member
 
iMystikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Costa Del Sol
Posts: 1,533
iMystikz is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobVT View Post
can you not set it up on your laptop and stream them to your xbox?
Yeah I could but I don't have much memory left on my laptop and I thought instead of buying a portable hard drive I could just store a couple of my series on the Xbox lol I'll have to stick with USB
iMystikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2013, 15:50   #5
smiith
Saxperience Hardcore!
Yorkshire Region Member
 
smiith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Jail - Whitby
Posts: 15,034
Blog Entries: 1
Car(s): 520bhp Honda Jazz
iTrader Score: 6 (100%)
smiith is absolutely fabulous!smiith is absolutely fabulous!smiith is absolutely fabulous!smiith is absolutely fabulous!smiith is absolutely fabulous!smiith is absolutely fabulous!smiith is absolutely fabulous!smiith is absolutely fabulous!smiith is absolutely fabulous!smiith is absolutely fabulous!smiith is absolutely fabulous!
Default

You can get a 100gb portable HDD for about a tenner now! Stop being tight, just because spain is poor, doesn't mean you have to act it!
__________________

Life's a bitch, then you die.
smiith is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to smiith For This Useful Post:
Old 26th October 2013, 16:08   #6
chompy
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
chompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,764
Car(s): Because racecar
chompy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smiith View Post
You can get a 100gb portable HDD for about a tenner now! Stop being tight, just because spain is poor, doesn't mean you have to act it!
+1

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2013, 20:17   #7
iMystikz
Established Member
 
iMystikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Costa Del Sol
Posts: 1,533
iMystikz is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smiith View Post
You can get a 100gb portable HDD for about a tenner now! Stop being tight, just because spain is poor, doesn't mean you have to act it!
LOL. I thought they was like 80 euros, and I literally don't have the money at the moment. But yes I can afford that, I don't want a rubbish one though
iMystikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 15:58   #8
iMystikz
Established Member
 
iMystikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Costa Del Sol
Posts: 1,533
iMystikz is on a distinguished road
Default

GUYS! In Desperate need of help - Haha.

Ok firstly I've bought a 500GB WD Elements Portable Harddrive.

The first Toshiba one I bought never worked in my Xbox (which is why I've bought it, to watch movies/tv series on my xbox) So I took that back and exchanged it for This WD one.

Anyway, It's doing the exact same thing.. So I've been researching for hours on how to do it and I know it has to be on FAT32 for the Xbox to read it, Which I have done and NOW My xbox recognizes my hard drive but it says there is nothing on it.. Which is a lie because I've put a few movies on it.

Anyone know what I can do?! It's doing my absolute head in and I hope I haven't just wasted 60euros, more to the point I just want it to work really bad.
iMystikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 16:02   #9
RobVT
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepNorth East Region Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Redcar, Middlesbrough
Posts: 2,285
Car(s): 16v Rallye S2
iTrader Score: 8 (100%)
RobVT is on a distinguished road
Default

Plug hdd into laptop, stream through laptop, sorted!
__________________
RobVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 16:12   #10
iMystikz
Established Member
 
iMystikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Costa Del Sol
Posts: 1,533
iMystikz is on a distinguished road
Default

Has to be so complicated instead of just plugging the stupid thing into that Xbox, I wish I bought a PS3 now. I've just made a 32GB partition on the HDD or will do what you suggested!! Haha Cheers
iMystikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 16:55   #11
Brettles1986
Saxperience Post Whore
South Wales Region Member
 
Brettles1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Little Mill, South Wales
Posts: 7,547
Car(s): Mondeo ST TDCI Saxo VTS
Brettles1986 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iMystikz View Post
Has to be so complicated instead of just plugging the stupid thing into that Xbox, I wish I bought a PS3 now. I've just made a 32GB partition on the HDD or will do what you suggested!! Haha Cheers
What format are the films in?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giraffe View Post
I'm happy being a north easternly smoggie bender.
Brettles1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 18:39   #12
marcusd
Saxperience Post Whore
Central South Region MemberNorth West Region Member
 
marcusd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: warrington
Posts: 7,551
Car(s): posi blue mk2 2003 vtr
iTrader Score: 29 (100%)
marcusd is on a distinguished road
Default

as I said at the top of page, xbox will only play wma and some mp4 files nothing else will play on it
marcusd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 20:06   #13
iMystikz
Established Member
 
iMystikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Costa Del Sol
Posts: 1,533
iMystikz is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brettles1986 View Post
What format are the films in?
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcusd View Post
as I said at the top of page, xbox will only play wma and some mp4 files nothing else will play on it
The films are in both of them formats, I play them via a 16gb USB stick so I thought it would be the same via HDD? I rang Microsoft and he said I'll be able to find some software to put on the HDD that will let me use it with the Xbox. God knows where and what because I've searched for hours!
iMystikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2013, 22:16   #14
marcusd
Saxperience Post Whore
Central South Region MemberNorth West Region Member
 
marcusd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: warrington
Posts: 7,551
Car(s): posi blue mk2 2003 vtr
iTrader Score: 29 (100%)
marcusd is on a distinguished road
Default

its just a pain why I gave up trying with mine, I just stream it from lappy or plug lappy in rear of tv
marcusd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2013, 10:22   #15
iMystikz
Established Member
 
iMystikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Costa Del Sol
Posts: 1,533
iMystikz is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcusd View Post
its just a pain why I gave up trying with mine, I just stream it from lappy or plug lappy in rear of tv
Problem Solved, I went and bought a 1TB HDD, Formatted it to FAT32 then I plugged it into my Xbox, Went to storage through settings and boom I basically Installed it and it works perfectly Goodbye shitty 16gb USB Stick!
iMystikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:10.