Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Other... > Gaming, IT, Multimedia & Music

Gaming, IT, Multimedia & Music Please use this forum to discuss Gaming, IT, Multimedia & Music.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24th February 2014, 17:42   #1
marcusd
Saxperience Post Whore
Central South Region MemberNorth West Region Member
 
marcusd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: warrington
Posts: 7,551
Car(s): posi blue mk2 2003 vtr
iTrader Score: 29 (100%)
Default step by step to recover hdd

Ok tried plugging into a thingy but last file update was 2012 so is there another way to recover any files? Dos mode or something? Tried Google but most Sat download this and turns out to be adware?? Wanna recover my newborns baby pics
marcusd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2014, 17:55   #2
Brettles1986
Saxperience Post Whore
South Wales Region Member
 
Brettles1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Little Mill, South Wales
Posts: 7,545
Car(s): Mondeo ST TDCI Saxo VTS
Default

Slave it from another computer or you could just buy a cheap caddy off eBay and plug it into another working computer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giraffe View Post
I'm happy being a north easternly smoggie bender.
Brettles1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2014, 18:06   #3
chompy
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
chompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,765
Car(s): Because racecar
Default

Take it somewhere. Don't mess with it if you don't know what you're doing. You could end up destroying it.

Kroll ontrak will get it off but will cost you a small fortune. But it depends how much they photos are worth to you
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2014, 20:25   #4
marcusd
Saxperience Post Whore
Central South Region MemberNorth West Region Member
 
marcusd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: warrington
Posts: 7,551
Car(s): posi blue mk2 2003 vtr
iTrader Score: 29 (100%)
Default

tried slaving it but nothing comes up other than 2012 files nothing recent, guy at comp shop said maybe do something in dos with directories?
marcusd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2014, 20:41   #5
MuZiZZle
Saxperience Post Whore
Track / Motorsport PrepNorth East Region Member
 
MuZiZZle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 7,785
Car(s): Phase 2 VTS , E61 M5
iTrader Score: 5 (100%)
Default

you need to get all unixy on that motherfucker!

You can bosh it up to me if you want, unless it has loads of "home movies" on it?
__________________
Turtle neck, with another on deck, 'case I spill something on it, like some light beer, check!
MuZiZZle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2014, 20:54   #6
MartinObviously
Saxperience Forum Bum
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
MartinObviously's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth
Posts: 3,262
Car(s): Peugeot 106 1.5D Peugeot 106 GTI '78 XJ-S
Default

Step one, boot Linux (such as ubuntu) from live CD or pen drive.

Access your HDD

transfer the files ya want onto external HDD.

Bin your broken hdd, you win (or reinstall winfail or ifail)
__________________
The rain kept a trollin'
MartinObviously is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2014, 21:22   #7
chompy
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
chompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,765
Car(s): Because racecar
Default

Sounds like it's mounting the recovery partition tbh, do any of the files look like something you've created? . As Muz says you need to get yer nix oot. But tbh, I think it's well beyond you.

As said, all else fails Kroll will do it for you, almost 100% guaranteed to get most of it off. but they'll charge about £1K depending on the amount of data
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2014, 21:27   #8
marcusd
Saxperience Post Whore
Central South Region MemberNorth West Region Member
 
marcusd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: warrington
Posts: 7,551
Car(s): posi blue mk2 2003 vtr
iTrader Score: 29 (100%)
Default

We'll the stuff I can access is from a recovery point in 2012 and can't find anything else on hdd. Can you do a step by step to these points so I can try don't wanna pay out a grand for a few baby pics and Car pics
marcusd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2014, 21:31   #9
chompy
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
chompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,765
Car(s): Because racecar
Default

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...dows-computer/

this should cover the basics. If you still can't get it to work then you need someone to look at the partition table and see what's actually there, don't do this yourself though as you could totally destroy it.
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2014, 11:30   #10
marcusd
Saxperience Post Whore
Central South Region MemberNorth West Region Member
 
marcusd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: warrington
Posts: 7,551
Car(s): posi blue mk2 2003 vtr
iTrader Score: 29 (100%)
Default

Ohhhhhhhh that looks good will try that when I got some time and quiet cheers
marcusd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2014, 13:25   #11
Brettles1986
Saxperience Post Whore
South Wales Region Member
 
Brettles1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Little Mill, South Wales
Posts: 7,545
Car(s): Mondeo ST TDCI Saxo VTS
Default

Trying Hirens boot disk might be an idea as well
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giraffe View Post
I'm happy being a north easternly smoggie bender.
Brettles1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2014, 14:27   #12
marcusd
Saxperience Post Whore
Central South Region MemberNorth West Region Member
 
marcusd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: warrington
Posts: 7,551
Car(s): posi blue mk2 2003 vtr
iTrader Score: 29 (100%)
Default

So that how to say to plug it into laptop, will it still work if it's a slave disc plugged into usb?
marcusd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2014, 11:35   #13
marcusd
Saxperience Post Whore
Central South Region MemberNorth West Region Member
 
marcusd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: warrington
Posts: 7,551
Car(s): posi blue mk2 2003 vtr
iTrader Score: 29 (100%)
Default

Tried and failed with software above, called a recovery company £99-249 to recover data!!!!
Downloaded some software and it seems to have worked but says can't view images as something needs updating so will see later
marcusd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:19.