Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Other... > Gaming, IT, Multimedia & Music

Gaming, IT, Multimedia & Music Please use this forum to discuss Gaming, IT, Multimedia & Music.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th October 2014, 14:27   #1
martinmac
Frequent Poster
Scotland Region Member
 
martinmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 997
Car(s): Mazda 3 MPS
iTrader Score: 2 (100%)
Default New hard drive question

So my hard drive decided it'd had enough yesterday and died.
Problem is I'm living in China and it's not easy to send away for repair etc.

So I took it to a local repair place, tried my best to explain the problem with my basic mandarin and they recommended a 1TB hard drive to replace my 625 GB one.

When I click on 'my computer' now the local disk only has 99.9Gb but there are 2 other 'folders' which when added together gives the 1TB(ish). (I've added a picture to show what I mean)

Maybe being stupid and naive but I only had one local disk folder on the old HD not 3, is this gonna involve any faffing about? For example will I have to start moving crap from one place to another when the local disk (C: ) is full or will it just fill up and move on to disk 2 and 3?

I renamed them disk 2 and 3 because they were named something in chinese before.

Also does anyone know if it's possible to recover all the crap I had on my old HD? No idea why it died, nothing wrong with it physically.

martinmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 14:37   #2
chompy
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
chompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,765
Car(s): Because racecar
Default

They've partitioned it. Basically, it's the same disk but there are markers in place to limit the space.

What you can do it delete the other two partitions and extend the C: Drive across the other partitions. I'm not helping you further with that though, because i'm a cunt.

Data recovery is a tricky one. It depends what is wrong with the drive, you might need to send it off somewhere to get recovered.
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chompy For This Useful Post:
Old 10th October 2014, 14:53   #3
martinmac
Frequent Poster
Scotland Region Member
 
martinmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 997
Car(s): Mazda 3 MPS
iTrader Score: 2 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chompy View Post
They've partitioned it. Basically, it's the same disk but there are markers in place to limit the space.

What you can do it delete the other two partitions and extend the C: Drive across the other partitions. I'm not helping you further with that though, because i'm a cunt.

Data recovery is a tricky one. It depends what is wrong with the drive, you might need to send it off somewhere to get recovered.
Nae bother.

Cheers for the help.

If left the way it is though, will it cause problems?

Edit: Managed to figure out how to merge... I managed to delete the volume on "disk 2" and extend the local disk but when I do the same with "disk 3" it doesn't allow me to extend into local disk

Last edited by martinmac; 10th October 2014 at 15:09.
martinmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 15:16   #4
chompy
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
chompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,765
Car(s): Because racecar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinmac View Post
Nae bother.

Cheers for the help.

If left the way it is though, will it cause problems?

Edit: Managed to figure out how to merge... I managed to delete the volume on "disk 2" and extend the local disk but when I do the same with "disk 3" it doesn't allow me to extend into local disk
Not really, no. Once it fills you'll have to move stuff but that won't be for some time.

Post a picture of your disk management screen so I can try figure out what's wrong.
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 15:24   #5
martinmac
Frequent Poster
Scotland Region Member
 
martinmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 997
Car(s): Mazda 3 MPS
iTrader Score: 2 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chompy View Post
Not really, no. Once it fills you'll have to move stuff but that won't be for some time.

Post a picture of your disk management screen so I can try figure out what's wrong.
As it stands now:



But when I delete the other volume and try to extend into (C: ) it doesn't allow it:

martinmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 15:28   #6
chompy
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
chompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,765
Car(s): Because racecar
Default

Try right click on the (C next to disk0 rather than on the one you have.
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 15:30   #7
martinmac
Frequent Poster
Scotland Region Member
 
martinmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 997
Car(s): Mazda 3 MPS
iTrader Score: 2 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chompy View Post
Try right click on the (C next to disk0 rather than on the one you have.
Does the same thing
martinmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 15:44   #8
martinmac
Frequent Poster
Scotland Region Member
 
martinmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 997
Car(s): Mazda 3 MPS
iTrader Score: 2 (100%)
Default

Never mind, got it!

Downloaded Minitool partition and it merged them!

Cheers for the help though
martinmac is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to martinmac For This Useful Post:
Old 10th October 2014, 16:20   #9
chompy
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
chompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,765
Car(s): Because racecar
Default

gid stuff
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:20.