Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Citroen Saxo Related Forums > Saxo In Car Entertainment (ICE) & Security

Saxo In Car Entertainment (ICE) & Security This forum should be used to chat about all things relating to in-car entertainment...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th June 2008, 21:03   #1
Modified
Saxperience Forum Bum
South East Region Member
 
Modified's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chesham
Posts: 2,911
Car(s): Golf MK4 GTi 20v Turbo - BLAP BLAP
iTrader Score: 3 (100%)
Default Ground/earth Cable

Hey

Doing my boot install blah blah check other thread

what i need to know is

i have a ground / earth cable going into one amp, can i tap that to ground/earth the other amp or will each one needs its own place to connect to?

just wanna know as i have one ground going to the one amp and then a cable going from that amp to the other?

whats ya ideas on this then?

__________________
Modified is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 21:43   #2
Coonper
Saxperience Post Whore
West Midlands Region Member
 
Coonper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Coventry
Posts: 5,182
Car(s): Lupo GTI
iTrader Score: 12 (100%)
Default

Yes, you can earth them to the same point. I cant see it being a problem, and even if there was a problem, all it would be is maybe a little intereference, in which case you would need to move the earth, although i have 2 amps earthed to the same bolt, so it should be fine mate!
Coonper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 21:49   #3
Noddy
Saxperience Forum Bum
Central South Region MemberSouth East Region Member
 
Noddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maidstone, Kent
Posts: 4,122
Car(s): Mk2 Posi Blue 1.1
iTrader Score: 14 (100%)
Default

what i've done is to take the two earths into a distribution block and then have one line out of that - it works exactly the same as it would for power, but in reverse
__________________
Noddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 22:23   #4
kxhaz
Frequent Poster
East Anglia Region Member
 
kxhaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Essex
Posts: 975
Car(s): saxo east coast 1.1
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noddy View Post
what i've done is to take the two earths into a distribution block and then have one line out of that - it works exactly the same as it would for power, but in reverse
good idear might have to tak ethat intoacount when i start my boot build
kxhaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008, 22:47   #5
Noddy
Saxperience Forum Bum
Central South Region MemberSouth East Region Member
 
Noddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maidstone, Kent
Posts: 4,122
Car(s): Mk2 Posi Blue 1.1
iTrader Score: 14 (100%)
Default

i'll get a pic at some stage
__________________
Noddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2008, 08:12   #6
Modified
Saxperience Forum Bum
South East Region Member
 
Modified's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chesham
Posts: 2,911
Car(s): Golf MK4 GTi 20v Turbo - BLAP BLAP
iTrader Score: 3 (100%)
Default

so i have a cable from the earth point to a amp, then from that amp to another amp will that still be ok?
__________________
Modified is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2008, 09:24   #7
Ashleyp
Saxperience Hardcore!
Track / Motorsport PrepContent Contributor
 
Ashleyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bedford & Manchester
Posts: 17,446
iTrader Score: 8 (100%)
Default

yeah i assume it would be.. ive seen your other thread about your boot build and assume the amps are going into the boot?

if thats the case, might be better to use the bolts in the corners of the boot for the rear bench. put one earth on each side of the boot, to each amp?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tupps View Post
Pirates of the caribean 2 (aka been a first one, aka repost)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lee_saxo View Post
some lad pulled up a type R, and had a sticker on the back. If it ain't jap it's crap. I thought what a bender
Ashleyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2008, 18:10   #8
ajay01386
Infrequent Poster
 
ajay01386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: worcestershire
Posts: 165
Car(s): saxo vtr mk1, e46 BMW, saxo vtr/s mk2, mazda rx-8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noddy View Post
what i've done is to take the two earths into a distribution block and then have one line out of that - it works exactly the same as it would for power, but in reverse

thats what i did to!works fine for me!
ajay01386 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2008, 20:33   #9
Coonper
Saxperience Post Whore
West Midlands Region Member
 
Coonper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Coventry
Posts: 5,182
Car(s): Lupo GTI
iTrader Score: 12 (100%)
Default

You can just loop them from amp to amp, but if you are doing it properly, and its not a rush job, then your best off the put a ring terminal on each earth from the amps, then earth them to that little bolt under the rear becnch.
Coonper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:28.