Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Citroen Saxo Related Forums > Saxo Problems & Queries

Saxo Problems & Queries If you're having problems with your Saxo and you're after a bit of advice, check this forum out...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th October 2010, 20:20   #1
JoshYouare
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 6
Car(s): VTR 01
Default central locking

I've been looking at my central locking and thinking about getting a alarm.

I have no idea if I have remote central locking or just central locking. Nothing near the sunroof so looked behind the glove box and there was a small black box floating around there. unplugged it and the central locking still worked fine but the engine turned over but wouldn't start. I decided that was probably worth leaving alone

Like my old Saxo the central locking only works from the drivers door and that only defiantly did have remote locking.

Any thoughts where the box is? (2001 VTR)
Or does it work in ways I don't understand?
Thanks
JoshYouare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2010, 20:31   #2
burgerfeet
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bridgend
Posts: 231
Car(s): VTS 2002 - well the Mrs does
Default

It maybe that your car does or doesn't have. I would have though it does. You could contact a main dealer and ask. By provided chassis details he/she should be able to tell from the dealer network. They may charge you for this though.

Incase you wondering....

French wiring can be a mystery even on cars of the same type and year.

I only mention this as I have fitted alarm systems to various french cars and found that on occasion the fitted system requires modification to work correctly.

However in your case you could fit a simple central locking interface such as a Cobra 1046 or any other alarm system that has central locking outputs.

I only mention this as often it is cheaper and easier to have an entire alarm or simple interface fitted than pay for a new remote....honestly.
burgerfeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2010, 20:56   #3
JoshYouare
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 6
Car(s): VTR 01
Default

I thought about that but I guess Id still have to find the right wires for the central locking outputs and thought the central locking box thing would be a good place to start?

Also if the central locking only works from the drivers door would I need another motor?
I cant lock the drivers door from any other door
JoshYouare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2010, 21:08   #4
burgerfeet
Infrequent Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bridgend
Posts: 231
Car(s): VTS 2002 - well the Mrs does
Default

It is possible that you will need a motor. It is always easier and quicker to test the wiring inside the door to be sure; thats where it all happens anyway.

Just look for the pulses in the lock wiring loom. It is normally a negative lock pulse your are looking for. If I am unsure I will find the corresponding pulsed wires and then send a pulse down it to see what happens.
burgerfeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2010, 21:57   #5
JoshYouare
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 6
Car(s): VTR 01
Default

Thanks mate I'll give it a go
JoshYouare is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:47.