Mobile Devices: Lite Theme Citroën: Citroën Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience

Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Citroen Saxo Related Forums > Saxo Engine/Performance

Saxo Engine/Performance If you're interested in tuning Saxo engines, or if you need to know something which is engine related... this is the place for you.

Old 16th July 2018, 09:34   #1
sri_130
Frequent Poster
Track / Motorsport Prep

iTrader Score: 1 (100%)
sri_130 is on a distinguished road
Default Coolant bleeding - process

I've been bleeding the coolant on Saxo VTS's incorrectly since 2010.
Can someone confirm this method below is correct, which I will try tonight:

1 - Fill it up from cold using a header tank with all the bleeds open.

2 - Lock them off in sequence with the rad first, then stat, then the rear one by the engine mount when water flows in a steady stream.

3 - Leave the header tank in and run the car, keeping the water in the header tank higher than the heater matrix level (about halfway up a 2l coke bottle with the bottom cut off).

4 - Run at fast idle, just under 2000 rpm and keep an eye on coolant in header tank. You will see air bubbling through and you need to keep topping it up.
Don't fill it too high because as the thermostat opens you will get a big rise in coolant level which will settle down again.

5 - Let the theromostat open and let the fan kick in then switch off and let the car cool fully, then remove header tank and top up if necessary.
sri_130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2018, 22:56   #2
jasaxovts
L-plater

jasaxovts is on a distinguished road

Not the way I do it but I believe that's the proper way to do it. I think I read it on here somewhere..
jasaxovts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2018, 09:03   #3
elliotthorwood
Infrequent Poster

Car(s): Mk1 (mk2 in disguise) vtr turbo.. sort of. (N3 EBH
elliotthorwood is on a distinguished road