Mobile Devices: Lite Theme CitroŽn: CitroŽn Trader | Saxo Trader | C2 Trader Peugeot: Peugeot Trader | 106 Trader Enthusiast: Saxperience


Go Back   Saxperience - Citroen Saxo Forum > Citroen Saxo Related Forums > Saxo In Car Entertainment (ICE) & Security

Saxo In Car Entertainment (ICE) & Security This forum should be used to chat about all things relating to in-car entertainment...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st February 2011, 18:47   #1
Petee
Established Member
Central South Region MemberSouth East Region Member
 
Petee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,152
Car(s): Furi0
iTrader Score: 3 (100%)
Petee is on a distinguished road
Default Guide- How to fit a Hawk remote locking system.

Ive decided to put up a little guide helping everyone who is fed up of the crappy saxo Fobs.

Hawk alarm

That is the system this guide is based on.




UNPLUG YOUR BATTERY


1. Removing the glove box- 2 screws on the front, and 4 screws on the back, if you get right into the foot well and look up you should see a metal plate, with a big black thing with lots of wires coming out of it. you have to slide that along to get the glove box passed all the wires.

MK1 Glove Box- 1 screw at the top, and theres 2 more screws behind some bits of rubber


I also removed the Glove box lid to make it easyer 3 screws then little pull and it will pop off.


2. Now you have to find the Centrol locking socket, if you look straight through the glove box on the top left you should see a brown plug with numbers written on it. Pull it out.


3. First off you need power, if you take a look at the brown plug, you should see numbers where the wires go in. Number 1 should be grey tap into that for power.

4. Earthing- If you are sat in the passenger seat and you look up in the foot well on your left you should see a bolt, if you undo this bolt and pull the carpet back you should see a bolt. This is where you are going to earth your wires.

Wires you need to earth.

-Yellow wire
-Yellow wire with a black stripe
-Black wire

5. Central locking
Now locate the white wire from the hawk central locking kit, this needs to go into number 7 on the central locking connector.

Now you have to find the white and black white from the hawk central locking kit, this one needs to go into number 5 on the central locking connector.


You are Almost there now! Plug everything back in and get your hawk fob. press the lock button and you should see the little LED blinks, your doors should also lock! If they do you have done everything right. If not check you have earthed all the wires i have mentioned.

6. Hazards flash. This is optional but its best to do it!

Now you are going to wire into the hazards so when you press lock/unlock they flash.

The fun part...

Now you want to take the centre console out, 5 screws 2 under the caps on either side of where the hazard button is, just above the air controls, one right at the bottom in the middle.

now you need to pull the Air controls off the little dial and the 2 slidy stick things.

Now you should be able to pull the centre console out

Take a look at the hazard button from the back of the console pull it out to make it easyer to get too.

Locate your 2 brown wires from the Hawk central locking kit. Now you want to look really closely at the plug that goes into the hazards button. you should see numbers on them. You want to put 1 brown wire in Number 5, and 1 brown wire in number 6.


Your all done!

Put all the centre console and glove box back in etc...

I stuck my Hawk box on the bottom of the glove box, now you may want to cable tie all the wires up to neaten it all up.

All the wires that are still loose you can either cut off or just role them up and cable tie them up.


Now you have a brand new remote locking system.

__________________
Pete's Progess Thread.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayyoung View Post
I was like and he was like

Last edited by Petee; 4th February 2011 at 20:27.
Petee is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Petee For This Useful Post:
Old 2nd February 2011, 17:53   #2
liam_b
Saxperience Forum Bum
South West Region Member
 
liam_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: paignton
Posts: 3,168
Car(s): saxo
iTrader Score: 1 (100%)
liam_b is a splendid one to beholdliam_b is a splendid one to beholdliam_b is a splendid one to beholdliam_b is a splendid one to beholdliam_b is a splendid one to beholdliam_b is a splendid one to beholdliam_b is a splendid one to behold
Default

good guide how meny people have used these units?
__________________
151.5dB @ 41hz (db drag)
‎154.8dB @33hz 152.8dB average (Propper Droppers)
uk's loudest saxo
liam_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2011, 18:11   #3
marcusd
Saxperience Post Whore
Central South Region MemberNorth West Region Member
 
marcusd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: warrington
Posts: 7,551
Car(s): posi blue mk2 2003 vtr
iTrader Score: 29 (100%)
marcusd is on a distinguished road
Default

i got full alarm from hawk. but never did all that with removing glovebox or using hazard switch as wiring guide they gave me for saxo was mostly under steering wheel.
marcusd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2011, 18:26   #4
ryza
Frequent Poster
Track / Motorsport PrepEast Anglia Region Member
 
ryza's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ipswich
Posts: 961
Car(s): track saxo Daily beemer
iTrader Score: 2 (100%)
ryza is on a distinguished road
Default

i got the one he's got, very cheap and very good quality, and easy 2 fit. i done a little guide somewhere aswell. but this is very good should be made a sticky
ryza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2011, 19:18   #5
parry121
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepWest Midlands Region Member
 
parry121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: oswestry, shropshire and chester
Posts: 1,648
Car(s): 3 saxo's black GTI now a rebuilt cherry caged GT
iTrader Score: 9 (100%)
parry121 is on a distinguished road
Default

spot on quide mate
__________________
http://www.saxperience.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=378539

my rebuilt cherry caged GTI
parry121 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to parry121 For This Useful Post:
Old 3rd February 2011, 11:49   #6
stevo67
Saxperience Hardcore!
 
stevo67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: smurfland.
Posts: 17,349
Car(s): Ex saxo owner.
stevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud of
Default

Just to ask i`ve just looked behind the glovebox & the only brown plug I can see is a round 1 is this the correct 1?

Thanks.

Steve.
stevo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2011, 12:29   #7
LVC
Frequent Poster
 
LVC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Le Mans, France
Posts: 976
Car(s): VTS, Hawkeye WRX, Def90 & Freelander HSE (ex-VTR)
LVC is on a distinguished road
Default

Take the glovebox out Steve - the plug you want is really high up and almost impossible to see without removing the box - it should be rectangular 9 pin and is the highest plug on the LHS that you can find
__________________
http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/ll38/LVC1/ALM/ForumSig01.jpg

Kiss French, Speak English, Ride Italian & Play Japanese
LVC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LVC For This Useful Post:
Old 3rd February 2011, 16:57   #8
stevo67
Saxperience Hardcore!
 
stevo67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: smurfland.
Posts: 17,349
Car(s): Ex saxo owner.
stevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud of
Default

Right i`ve had a look at my glovebox theres 2 screws at the front the actual glovebox is moulded to the dashboard ie 1 piece.

Steve.
stevo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2011, 17:03   #9
SaxSpeed
Established Member
Track / Motorsport PrepScotland Region Member
 
SaxSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cupar Fife
Posts: 1,712
Car(s): 1600 16v VTS 1600 8v VTR 1400 16v Clio Sport
SaxSpeed is on a distinguished road
Default

when i did my remote central locking, i got my live, earth, signal wires and everything conected up inside the door, asin i fitted the full kit into the door so it was behind the door card, but thats remote C/L not an alarm
__________________
SaxSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 15:24   #10
stevo67
Saxperience Hardcore!
 
stevo67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: smurfland.
Posts: 17,349
Car(s): Ex saxo owner.
stevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud of
Default

Right just to ask my saxo is a mk1 saxo i`ve undone the screws for the glovebox now to take the glovebox out do you push it out from the front?Or do you push from the back?

Thanks in advance.

Steve.
stevo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 19:40   #11
stormjojo1982
Frequent Poster
North East Region Member
 
stormjojo1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 914
Car(s): 1.4 furio white
iTrader Score: 8 (100%)
stormjojo1982 is on a distinguished road
Default

cheers mate just done this today and works a treat now.

steve i pushed mine out from the front, i found pushing it down while twisting to the left was easiest
__________________
My progress thread
http://www.saxperience.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=291072
stormjojo1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2011, 01:00   #12
Karlb1
Established Member
Central Counties Region MemberCentral South Region Member
 
Karlb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aylesbury
Posts: 1,868
Car(s): Seat Leon Cupra tdi
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Karlb1 is on a distinguished road
Default

Just ordered mine mate im guessing you have to solder all the connections? like into the brown plug? and i know im gonna sound nooby but how do you earth them?
Karlb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2011, 01:14   #13
stormjojo1982
Frequent Poster
North East Region Member
 
stormjojo1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 914
Car(s): 1.4 furio white
iTrader Score: 8 (100%)
stormjojo1982 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlb1 View Post
Just ordered mine mate im guessing you have to solder all the connections? like into the brown plug? and i know im gonna sound nooby but how do you earth them?
you earth it by taking the three wires mentioned in the guide, then find the nut behind the carpet under the foot well loosen this a little then wrap the wires behind it.
tighten the nut up and you're done.

i used crimp connectors for the wires
__________________
My progress thread
http://www.saxperience.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=291072
stormjojo1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2011, 16:17   #14
stevo67
Saxperience Hardcore!
 
stevo67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: smurfland.
Posts: 17,349
Car(s): Ex saxo owner.
stevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud of
Default

Just some info folks i`ve taken my glovebox right out & on my saxo there is no brown box to plug the central locking unit into just a space with some holes.

Steve.
stevo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2011, 16:20   #15
Petee
Established Member
Central South Region MemberSouth East Region Member
 
Petee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,152
Car(s): Furi0
iTrader Score: 3 (100%)
Petee is on a distinguished road
Default

Does your car have central locking?
__________________
Pete's Progess Thread.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayyoung View Post
I was like and he was like
Petee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2011, 16:24   #16
stevo67
Saxperience Hardcore!
 
stevo67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: smurfland.
Posts: 17,349
Car(s): Ex saxo owner.
stevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud ofstevo67 has much to be proud of
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Petee View Post
Does your car have central locking?
Yes mate but not remote central locking.


Steve.
stevo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2011, 20:10   #17
Petee
Established Member
Central South Region MemberSouth East Region Member
 
Petee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,152
Car(s): Furi0
iTrader Score: 3 (100%)
Petee is on a distinguished road
Default

Oh right :/, im not sure what you have to do then.

Sorry about that mate
__________________
Pete's Progess Thread.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayyoung View Post
I was like and he was like
Petee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2011, 21:25   #18
Karlb1
Established Member
Central Counties Region MemberCentral South Region Member
 
Karlb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aylesbury
Posts: 1,868
Car(s): Seat Leon Cupra tdi
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Karlb1 is on a distinguished road
Default

I've never crimped wires before, would i be ok soldering them and taping them up?
Karlb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 16:43   #19
Karlb1
Established Member
Central Counties Region MemberCentral South Region Member
 
Karlb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aylesbury
Posts: 1,868
Car(s): Seat Leon Cupra tdi
iTrader Score: 4 (100%)
Karlb1 is on a distinguished road
Default

Petee is there any way you can take some pictures of how yours sits at the moment?> so i can get a look at how its wired and stuff?

SaxSpeed would you say yours was easy to do? how did you manage to do it?
Karlb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 16:49   #20
Petee
Established Member
Central South Region MemberSouth East Region Member
 
Petee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,152
Car(s): Furi0
iTrader Score: 3 (100%)
Petee is on a distinguished road
Default

I used krimps mate, you can also get special little connectors from halfords that will do the same.
__________________
Pete's Progess Thread.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayyoung View Post
I was like and he was like
Petee is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Petee For This Useful Post:
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:18.